Suicide Is Selfish: We Belong To Each Other

Thought Catalog

Last year, I saw a lady crying when I was riding on the “L.” If you know anything about Chicago’s “L,” it’s that it is a sight for peculiar things so I suppose this isn’t the most unusual thing I’ve witnessed. If I remember correctly, I wasn’t having the greatest day of my life either. She had sun glasses on but it was very obvious to anyone who is attentive that she was crying. I have been her before, crying under the protection of sunglasses or a smile, or with my eyes closed, hoping no one would notice.

I got out at her stop and grabbed her by the arm. I asked if she was going to be okay and if I could do anything to help. For some reason, my mother’s voice is always in my head in situations like this. If there is anything my mother wanted her…

View original post 1,007 more words

Leave a Reply

