From Minister To Atheist In 5 Simple Steps

Thought Catalog

(Theist: n. Belief in the existence of a god or gods, especially belief in a personal God as creator and ruler of the world. — thefreedictionary.com)

My story inevitably provokes this question, and it’s almost always phrased the same way: “How in the world does a Pentecostal preacher become an Atheist?”

It’s a simple question, but as you would expect, not a simple answer. The answer took a lifetime to live and it has taken an entire book to detail. As I traveled the country explaining it to people, I’ve realized that the only way my journey from believer to ardent non-believer can be explained is through a series of steps. I realize I don’t have much time here, so I will keep those steps brief. (I was gratified to see even the prominent philosopher Daniel Dennett work my steps into his presentation at the Global Atheist convention in Australia.)

View original post 1,577 more words

Leave a Reply

